The Acalanes Student Helper Website

Entry #7: December 11 2015

Since last week I startred my calender, I decided to finish it today. I made it on word document and I customized my calander with textboxes and things. So since I found out about the snipping tool from the last scratch lab I made the calander and then snipped it to make it into a jpeg. From there I saved the jpeg to my images file and linked it. Pretty awesome that snipping tool.

Entry #6: December 4 2015

Today I wanted to start actually adding stuff to my website. Such as a calander or surveys or even start inputing the google maps to my website. I finally decided to start a calender. My goal is that this calander keeps kids a lot more organzied with school work but also to help them stay on top of social school events. Hopefully this calander will not only keep students organzied in academics but also hopefully feel more involved and informed about social school events. So to make this calender I started working on it on google docs. Hopefully it will turn out great and look the way I want.

Entry #5: October 30 2015

Today I decided to expand my knowledge on java script through CodeAcademy. After, I started to edit my website once again and I have officialy put it up on neocities. Click HERE to see what my website looks like. I tried to add a lot of dons spirit to my website as well. I added a lot of css including my menu-bar and next week I hope to be able to start adding content to my website. By next week I hope to get an api address from google maps and add it to my website.

Entry #4: October 23 2015

Today instead of working on java script I decided to start developing my website. I started to create my index for my website and I started to create the different webpages for my website as well. I also started to add the css for my website but I do not think I am going to start uploading things until I am fully comfortable with java script. Without java script I do not think I will be able to use an api with google maps; so I still need to figure out java script. But today it was awesome to get a feel of what my website might look like.

Entry #3:October 16 2015

Today I continued my work to understand and learn java script. Since Codecademy is actually malfunctioning and having some technical difficulties, I decided to try to find different tutorials to help learn java script. I ended up trying to learn with examples and learn by trying with the website w3schools. This website and its examples were actually quite helpful as I got a better understanding of java script and how it works.

Entry #2: October 9 2015

Today I created a new folder on my H drive to start creating my website on brackets. I set up my website with an index, but before I really start inputing and changing my website I want to how to make my website a lot more interactive. Thus today after establishing my website, I focused on CodeAcademy and started the lesson "Make an Interactive Website". But when I started that lesson I realized I needed to know java script to understand so then I started the java script lesson on CodeAcademy. Hopefully by next week I will have completed all of the lessons about java script on CodeAcademy

Entry #1: October 2 2015

  1. Google 20 is an idea created by google to have their workers use 20% of their time to work on projects of their own.
  2. My project is to create a website that can help the average Acalanes student. In this website I hope to include a student survey section and just daily news from the students of acalanes. I also am going to include some websites that can help students with school and websites that are helpful towards homework. Another thing I want to create in this website is a calander that can help organize the average Acalanes student. As well as these awesome feautres I would also try and utilize Google Maps and use an api to try and show students the cool places to be after school.
  3. I chose this project because if it is successful I think it could help a lot of the Acalanes students to be mroe aware and mroe involved. As a student in Acalanes, thinking back on freshman year I would have loved something like this to help keep me a little more organized and more involved in school.
  4. I want to learn how to use java script and how to access an api address to help me imrpove my website and make it more interesting.
  5. I need to learn how to code with Java Script and I need to learn how to get access to an api address for google maps.
  6. I want to learn how to code Java Script for this project because I want to be able to have the accesor to my website be able to interact with the website.
  7. I will learn Java Script through Code Academy and I plan to learn how to access an api address through learning about it from different sources on google.
  8. Learning Java Script will be a challenge as it can be very time consuming on Code Academy and because I have no prior knowledge with Java Script. But all in all I think if finish on time that this will be a sucess!

Click HERE to return to homepage.